Johnsons of Whixley meet the staff - Gergo Kontos

Johnsons of Whixley meet the staff - Gergo Kontos

Johnsons of Whixley meet the staff - Gergo Kontos

Name: Gergo Kontos

Age: 27

Szolnok, Hungary. I now live in Leeds, but visit home once or twice a year to see my family.

How long have been in the UK?
I moved here when I was 24, so it’s been just over three years.

What were your reasons for choosing to settle in the UK? I just felt like England had more to give.

Who did you come to the UK with? I travelled over with a friend of mine.

How did you come to work for Johnsons?
The friend I travelled over with found me a job at Johnsons, at first through an agency, and I am now employed full-time by the company.

What is your current role within the company?
I am a senior nursery worker.

What does a typical day for you at Johnsons consist of?
I mostly work in the potting shed, but I sometimes drive the tractor, or the dumper, when helping to lift amenity orders.

Has this been your only role at Johnsons?
My job and the roles I carry out have varied over the last three years I have been here, and I am happy to work wherever I am needed.

What’s your favourite thing about working for the company?
The people that work here are friendly, and this has really helped make my time enjoyable.

What’s your favourite thing about living in the UK?
The football! I support Liverpool and enjoy watching the matches on TV. I also like that my girlfriend lives in the UK, and I love the fact that Slash from Guns N’ Roses is English. I love the band and I went to see them live in London two weeks ago.

What are your ambitions, in work and in life?
I would love to travel some more, and maybe live In Australia or New Zealand with my girlfriend, but I would come back to Johnsons if I ever returned to the UK. I may end up in Australia or New Zealand once we’ve saved up enough money.

Posted 29th Jun 2:30pm