Ten years on, Kata Dacre

Ten years on, Kata Dacre

A big thanks to Kata Dacre, a fundamental member of our retail department who has achieved ten years of service with us. Kata has not been afraid to get stuck in since she joined us and has been involved in various roles before becoming the Retail Deputy Manager. Find out what she had to say about her time at Johnsons below:

1. How did you come to work for Johnsons?

Johnsons had a connection with the University I studied at in Budapest. In 2009 I had the chance to come and work for the company and completed 4-months of work experience to get my degree. In 2010, a week after I graduated from Uni, I moved to England and worked for JOW.

2. Did you work anywhere before Johnsons?

No, Johnsons is the first company I've worked for.

3. What roles have you worked in previously at Johnsons, and what do you do now?

The first time I worked on the Container unit, I lifted plants for Amenity, and after that, I drifted to the Retail shed and have worked there ever since, you name it, I've done it.

In the past 2 years, I have been the Retail Deputy Manager. I'm responsible for: checking off the trolleys before they get loaded onto the wagons, monitoring and topping up colour label stock. During the winter season, I check off and help sort the incoming bare root products.

4. Do you feel like much has changed in the past ten years?

It has got much busier. I have more responsibility which I like a lot. I have made good friends in the past few years. It was very hard at the beginning regarding the language barrier, the new setting, first-ever job. Still, I've received so much support, good and not so good critics, educational opportunities that have made me grow into the person I am today.

5. Your most memorable day at Johnsons? 

During my work experience here, I met Jason, and the rest is history. We had our 10th wedding anniversary last month.

6. If you could have chosen another career, what do you think it would have been?

If I hadn't moved to England, I would have spent more time in education. I would like to have become a Garden Designer.

7. Favourite part of your job?

Because I do so many different things, I never get bored. There are always challenges which I like.

8. What do you hope to achieve in the next ten years?

I'm open to anything. I'm not afraid to learn new things or do something different or maybe look after and run a unit one day.


Posted 8th Dec 8:39am