Getting to know the new starters at Cattal

Getting to know the new starters at Cattal

We recently welcomed a number of new starters to our Cattal site, so we thought it would be nice to find out more about them; see what they have to say below:

Mark Whiting 

1) Tell us one thing that has made your JOW experience so far enjoyable:

The friendliness of everyone at Cattal.

2) What does a typical working day look like for you?

I start at 7 am to help prepare the tractors for the day and get them checked over. Then generally, I'm on the potting machine, which I enjoy and have been learning more lately about the machine works.

3) Any memorable moments from your time at JOW so far?

Fish and chip Friday

4) What would we find in your packed lunch box?

A chicken salad wrap, a bag of crisps, an apple, a banana and a kit kat (the best)

5) Are you a morning or a night person?

An early morning beats a late finish.

6) Tell us one item you couldn't live without:

My record player

7) Who is your celebrity hero?

David Bowie saw him three times live - amazing!

8) Have any hobbies?

Nothing specific, but I like walking and oriental cooking.

Jack Sibley

1. Where did you work prior to JOW?

I previously worked at the Railway Museum in York as part of their front-of-house team.

2. What does your role involve?

It involves various tasks in the potting shed, cultural teams and lifting orders for customers.

3. What do you like most about your role?

I like the variety my role offers me each day is different, and I am learning new skills all the time.

4. What is an interesting fact about you that nobody at work knows: I have met three members of The Royal Family.

5. If you could travel anywhere for a holiday, where would it be and why?

I would travel to New Zealand on holiday when the British & Irish Lions were on tour - I am a massive rugby fan, and it is a part of the world I've always wanted to visit.

6. What is your favourite type of cuisine? Mexican!!!

7. What was your favourite band growing up?

My Chemical Romance

8. What hobbies do you have outside of work?

I like being outdoors, walking my dog, going camping and walking up mountains! I also like going out with friends and going to music festivals.

9. What is your biggest pet peeve?

People who don't indicate!!!

Chris Edgar

1) What is your favourite thing about your job?

I enjoy seeing the plants and have personally done work earlier in the year on specific varieties and have then seen the plants grow into nice-looking plants. It gives me a sense of accomplishment.

2) What has the biggest challenge been since joining JOW?

I found driving the tractors quite intimidating before I learned, but now it's one of my favourite things to do at work!

3) What was your dream profession growing up?

As a kid, I wanted to be an astronaut but was disappointed to learn that I was too tall.

4) When you're not at work, what are your passions?

I like to be outdoors, for example, hiking or caving in the Yorkshire Dales.

5) What are you most grateful for in life?

Having time to enjoy my hobbies and spend time with friends.

6) What is your favourite thing to do locally?

Visiting historical sites in York

7) What's your favourite plant?

Hard to choose, but I'd say Lupins.

8)If you had to eat one meal every day for the rest of your life, what would it be and why?

Christmas Dinner because at least there are lots of sides for a variety.

Anna Sibley

1. How have you found your first few months at JOW, and what have you enjoyed most?

I have enjoyed cultural and lifting - 5-star experience!

2. Tell us two things you have learned since starting at JOW:

Trellising and driving tractors.

3. Favourite plant variety since starting: Lupinus

4. Tell us a random fact about yourself: I've memorised the majority of bird song in the UK!

5. What is one thing on the very top of your bucket list? Visit Yosemite National Park.

6.Are you a morning person or a night person?

I'm an afternoon person.

7. What’s the greatest TV show ever made?

Limmy's Show.

8. If you could live in any other country, where would you live? Italy

9. What is your idea of fun? Camping and Bowls.

Posted 9th Aug 3:36pm